South Korean flavour for Liverpool.

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Asian Football, English Premier League

Two Korean youngsters have today taken their first steps towards realising their dream of playing for Liverpool FC.

Kim Yoon-Soo, 16, and Park Hyeon-Jim, 18, arrived in the Liverpool on Saturday ahead of a week-long trial at the club’s Academy.

The Korean duo showed some neat touches during a two-hour work-out and later sat down with Liverpoolfc.tv to explain what it means to be the first Koreans to pull on a Liverpool shirt.

“I’ve grown up as a Liverpool fan so this is very special for me,” said Kim, a central midfielder who has grown up idolising Barcelona star, Xavi.“I couldn’t believe what I was seeing when I was shown the letter saying I was coming here. I was so excited I woke up several times last night and couldn’t wait to get out there.

“Back home we can only dream of an opportunity like this. I am living that dream and have no words to describe it. It is massive.”

“This is a once in a lifetime opportunity. I am very grateful to be here. It is something I will be able to talk about for the rest of my life and I’ll always be proud of it no matter what the outcome is.”

This trial comes after Standard Chartered Sponsorship Chief Gavin Laws stated that the Club should figure out ways to exploit the prosperous Asian market by nurturing and signing Asian players.

Leave a Reply

